Princetonlaan 8a, 3584 CB, Utrecht landac.geo@uu.nl +31 30 253 13 63

Overview sessions 2015

Innovative land tools

(Chairs: Jaap Zevenbergen, University of Twente – ITC; Rohan Bennett, University of Twente – ITC, Jean du Plessis, UN-Habitat – GLTN Secretariat)

Contact: j.a.zevenbergen@utwente.nl

 

Land tools – impact assessment

(Chairs: Jaap Zevenbergen, University of Twente – ITC; Rohan Bennett, University of Twente – ITC, Jean du Plessis, UN-Habitat – GLTN Secretariat)

Contact: j.a.zevenbergen@utwente.nl

 

Where are the real stakeholders? How to promote policy debate in ‘recipient’ countries that includes farmers’ organizations

(Chair: Jur Schuurman, Agriterra)

Contact: schuurman@agriterra.org

 

Community voices and land governance research

(Chairs: Kei Otsuki, Utrecht University – IDS; Danny Wijnhoud, ActionAid; Arelys de Yanez, ActionAid)

Contact: K.Otsuki@uu.nl

 

Urban(izing) land grabs in the global south I

(Chair: Femke van Noorloos, Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: h.j.vannoorloos@uu.nl

 

Urban(izing) land grabs in the global south II

(Chair: Femke van Noorloos, Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: h.j.vannoorloos@uu.nl

 

Regulating land acquisition: what is the role of local governance? I

(Chairs: Gerard Baltissen, Royal Tropical Institute (KIT); Gemma van der Haar, Wageningen University – Sociology of Development and Change)

Contact: g.baltissen@kit.nl; gemma.vanderhaar@wur.nl

 

Regulating land acquisition: what is the role of local governance? II

(Chairs: Gerard Baltissen, Royal Tropical Institute (KIT); Gemma van der Haar, Wageningen University – Sociology of Development and Change)

Contact: g.baltissen@kit.nl; gemma.vanderhaar@wur.nl

 

Conflict-related displacement – challenges to land governance

(Chairs: Gemma van der Haar, Wageningen University – Sociology of Development and Change; Mathijs van Leeuwen, African Studies Centre/ CICAM Nijmegen)

Contact: gemma.vanderhaar@wur.nl

 

Beyond plantations: Exploring the viability of alternative agriculture business models I

With linkages to the CIFOR’s Large-scale Investments in Food, Fiber and Energy (LIFFE Options) project

(Chair: George Schoneveld, CIFOR)

Contact: g.schoneveld@cgiar.org)

 

Beyond plantations: Exploring the viability of alternative agriculture business models II

With linkages to the CIFOR’s Large-scale Investments in Food, Fiber and Energy (LIFFE Options) project

(Chair: George Schoneveld, CIFOR)

Contact: g.schoneveld@cgiar.org)

 

Grabbing nature to save it – appropriating land for nature conservation

(Chairs: Robert Fletcher, Utrecht University – IDS; Marja Spierenburg, VU University/ CERES)

Contact: r.fletcher@uu.nl; m.j.spierenburg@vu.nl)

 

Grounded analytical approaches to stakeholder interaction in large-scale land acquititions in Africa I

Closing of the 4-year NWO-WOTRO research programme ‘Development as a Trojan Horse: Foreign Large-scale Land Acquisitions in Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar and Uganda’

(Chairs: Sandra Evers, VU University; Froukje Krijtenburg, VU University)

Contact: s.j.t.m.evers@vu.nl; f.krijtenburg@vu.nl

 

Grounded analytical approaches to stakeholder interaction in large-scale land acquititions in Africa II

Closing of the 4-year NWO-WOTRO research programme ‘Development as a Trojan Horse: Foreign Large-scale Land Acquisitions in Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar and Uganda’

(Chairs: Sandra Evers, VU University; Froukje Krijtenburg, VU University)

Contact: s.j.t.m.evers@vu.nl; f.krijtenburg@vu.nl

 

Understanding the role of finance in farmland acquisitions

(Chair: Oane Visser, International Institute of Social Studies (ISS), Erasmus University Rotterdam)

Contact: visser@iss.nl

 

Land governance and food security I

Links to a new NWO-WOTRO Global Challenges research programme ‘

(Chair: Gemma Betsema, Utrecht University – IDS/ LANDac coordinator)

Contact: g.betsema@uu.nl

 

Land governance and food security II

Links to a new NWO-WOTRO Global Challenges research programme ‘

(Chair: Gemma Betsema, Utrecht University – IDS/ LANDac coordinator)

Contact: g.betsema@uu.nl

 

Responsible business and land: bridging the gap between corporate investment in land and the protection of local land-related livelihoods

(Chair: Guus van Westen, Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: a.c.m.vanwesten@uu.nl

 

Can Jatropha have a second chance? Insights based on past experiences

(Chairs: Aklilu Amsalu, Addis Ababa University; Richmond Antwi-Bediako, Rural Environmental Care Association, Ghana/ Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: amsalu.aklilu@gmail.com; r.antwi-bediako@uu.nl

 

Towards sustainability of various oil palm production models in Indonesia: a need for integrated and participatory land use planning I

(Chairs: Paul Burgers, Wageningen University; Pita Verwey, Utrecht University, Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development)

Contact: paul.burgers@wur.nl; p.a.verweij@uu.nl

 

Towards sustainability of various oil palm production models in Indonesia: a need for integrated and participatory land use planning II

(Chairs: Paul Burgers, Wageningen University; Pita Verwey, Utrecht University, Copernicus Institute of Sustainable Development)

Contact: paul.burgers@wur.nl; p.a.verweij@uu.nl

 

Oil palm expansion in Latin America: linking development pathways to socio-environmental impacts

(Chairs: Antonio Castellanos-Navarrete, Wageningen University; Fabio de Castro, CEDLA-UvA; Pablo Pacheco, CIFOR)

Contact: antoniocene@gmail.com; p.pacheco@cgiar.org; F.deCastro@cedla.nl

 

Land governance in the artisanal and small scale mining sector I

(Chair: Chris Huggins, LANDac Postdoc researcher at Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: cdhuggins@gmail.com

 

Land governance in the artisanal and small scale mining sector II

(Chair: Chris Huggins, LANDac Postdoc researcher at Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: cdhuggins@gmail.com

 

Climate change adaptation interventions, land use and the production of exclusion

(Chair: Sebastiaan Soeters, Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: s.r.soeters@uu.nl

 

Large-scale infrastructure development projects: how to make these investments more beneficial for all?

(Chair: Ty Pham Huu, Hue University of Agriculture and Forestry, Vietnam)

Contact: phamhuuty@huaf.edu.vn

 

Gender and commercial land investments

(Chairs: Caroline Archambault, Utrecht University – IDS; Sonja Vermeulen, CGIAR – Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security)

Contact: C.S.Archambault@uu.nl; S.vermeulen@cgiar.org

 

Gender and land

(Chairs: Caroline Archambault, Utrecht University – IDS; Sonja Vermeulen, CGIAR – Climate Change, Agriculture and Food Security)

Contact: C.S.Archambault@uu.nl; S.vermeulen@cgiar.org

 

Public land policies and instruments I

(Chairs: Thomas Hartmann, Utrecht University – Faculty of Geosciences; Tejo Spit, Utrecht University – Faculty of Geosciences)

Contact: t.hartmann@uu.nl; t.j.m.spit@uu.nl

 

Public land policies and instruments II

(Chairs: Thomas Hartmann, Utrecht University – Faculty of Geosciences; Tejo Spit, Utrecht University – Faculty of Geosciences)

Contact: t.hartmann@uu.nl; t.j.m.spit@uu.nl

 

Land governance and the landscape approach

(Chair: Sjoerd Panhuysen, HIVOS)

Contact: spanhuysen@hivos.org

 

The role of guidelines and principles in improving land governance

(Chair: Louisa Jansen, FAO – Climate, Energy and Tenure division)

Contact: louisa.jansen@fao.org

 

Legal and socio-legal perspectives in land governance

(Chair: Carolien Jacobs, Van Vollenhoven Institute for Law, Governance and Development)

Contact: c.i.m.jacobs@law.leidenuniv.nl

 

Governing the commons

(Chair: Malovika Pawar, Utrecht University, visiting lecturer)

Contact: malo_nl@yahoo.com

 

 

Land governance – different topics

(Chair: Guus van Westen, Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: a.c.m.vanwesten@uu.nl

 

Discussion panel: Role of the media & use of big data

(Chair: Annelies Zoomers, Utrecht University-IDS)

Contact: e.b.zoomers@uu.nl

 

Closing panel: Joining forces

(Chair: Annelies Zoomers, Utrecht University-IDS)

Contact: e.b.zoomers@uu.nl

 

Game: Land rush – an introduction into a simulation game on land dynamics

(Organizers: An Ansoms, Université Catholique de Louvain; Giuseppe Cioffo, Université Catholique de Louvain)

Contact: an.ansoms@uclouvain.be; giuseppe.cioffo@uclouvain.be

 

Workshop: Land Matrix

(Organizer: Wytske Chamberlain, University of Pretoria, LMI regional focal point)

Contact: Wytske.Chamberlain@up.ac.za)

 

Workshop: Land Portal

(Organizer: Laura Meggiolaro, Land Portal Coordinator)

Contact: laura.meggiolaro@landportal.info

 

 

Documentary viewing and discussion: Governance off the ground

(Organizer: Mathijs van Leeuwen, African Studies Centre/ CICAM)

Contact: m.vanleeuwen@fm.ru.nl

 

Book presentation: Losing your land – dispossession in the Great Lakes Region

(Organizer: An Ansoms, Université Catholique de Louvain)

Contact: an.ansoms@uclouvain.be

 

Book presentation: Climate change-induced displacement and migration

(Organizer: Chris Huggins, LANDac Postdoc researcher at Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: cdhuggins@gmail.com

 

Book presentation: Global trends in land tenure reform: gender impacts

(Organizer: Caroline Archambault, Utrecht University – IDS)

Contact: C.S.Archambault@uu.nl)

 

Book presentation: Advances in responsible land administration (forthcoming)

(Organizers: Jaap Zevenbergen, University of Twente – ITC; Rohan Bennett, University of Twente – ITC)

Contact: j.a.zevenbergen@utwente.nl